Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: HOLD on dashboard

HOLD on dashboard

I'm a newbie in this site. I need some help. I have a preowned 2000 familia station wagon. Since I bought it from my friend I noticed this sign which says "HOLD" on the dashboard. Everytime it appears it's like the transmission shifts from 4th to 3rd gear. I don't know if the word Jolt is the right word to describe it. I had the ATF drained and changed the filter. It somehow disappeared for a li'l while but it still came back but not as alarming as before the ATF and filter was changed. I wonder what the underlying problem is. I hope it's not a big one. Thanks! Hope to hear from you guys.

Are you hitting the 'hold' button on the side of the shifter by accident?
    ||
    \_________________________________________________ _____________________/
    | |

Well, a rough shift in an automatic isn't necessarily a bad thing. When an auto shifts quick and abrupt, it actually wears less on itself. Engineers have added that "butter smoothness" because people think the rough shift is bad, but it actually involves a lot of internal slipping and heat generation.

I'd say it's not bad, but keep on top of your fluid and filter changes.

Thanks for your reply Jack. No, I'm not hitting the HOLD button. It just happens randomly. It happens less often now that I changed the filter and fluid and it's less shocking when it happens. I thought it would be gone after I changed the filter and fluid. I wonder if you had encountered similar problems from other guys? Thanks again!

Quote Originally Posted by MazdaTom View Post
    Well, a rough shift in an automatic isn't necessarily a bad thing. When an auto shifts quick and abrupt, it actually wears less on itself. Engineers have added that "butter smoothness" because people think the rough shift is bad, but it actually involves a lot of internal slipping and heat generation.

I'd say it's not bad, but keep on top of your fluid and filter changes.