+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 26 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast

Thread: RX-8 Pros vs. Cons

RX-8 Pros vs. Cons

Hey Rotards!

I am really thinking of joining the gang soon. I have a little under a year left on my MSP payments...I hope the car makes it that long.....and am really interested in the RX-8, but I need some experienced 8 owners to chime in on the Pros and Cons...It doesnt have to be engine or performance specific. I really just want to learn everything I can in order to make an informed decision.

What's the word fellas? Keep in mind that I have NO rotary experience....so I might need help with engine terms...

B&
    OK I'm not to knowlegdable with the RX8 SPECIFICALLY however alot of the cars engine is near the same as any other 13B

Here are a few things I can recommend

Make sure the car is up to date on all the flashes that were offered.

Make sure the car has no visable OIL LEAKS (04's had a big problem with oil leaks/consumption)

Check the air filter to make sure it is not horribly dirty

check the spark plugs to see how the car is running (should be golden brown to lightly dark, any oil deposits run)

check the oil dipstick and under the oil cap
    milky color = crap oil or blowing coolant into the housing
    smells like gas could mean low compression one one or more faces

check the underbody for signs of rust, bad bushings etc

drive the car (with the radio off and windows up) listen for any creeks, whines, clunks

Make sure you bring the car up to redline a few times during the test drive.. you want to make sure the car has full power through the powerband and that there is no chugging or loss of power in the higher rpm's

make sure u run through all the gears and make sure there is no crunching. RX trannies are not forgiving once they begin to grind.

That is currently all I can think off of the top of my head..

lots to look at like any car just with a rotary BE PICKY!!!