Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: -dave- Turbo Build Thread

-dave- Turbo Build Thread

Well here we go folks. The day has finally arrived. I've been buying parts, studying and researching for a little over 14 months now. I took the advice of many and read Corky Bell's Maximum Boost. I also spent alot of time reading threads and posts from the greats of the Mazda forums. I have a ton of bookmarked stuff and hope to make this install as smooth as possible.

Background: I started out going with "I'll just build a stock MSP turbo kit" route that so many have tried. Halfway through I realized how big of an ordeal it really was and began to go way over what I initally started . I feel I have taken a few good (but appropriate) safety measures such as a SplitSecond AFC (V1) and a AEM wideband. I need a reliable set up as this is my daily driver.
    I drive 50 miles (round trip) to work 5 days a week and around town on the weekends. Most of my drive (to work) is stop and go rush hour interstate traffic. With that out of the way let me detail my turbo kit.

The Set-UP
    Turbo - GT25 (not from a MSP) re-clocked to fit
    Manifold - Stock MSP
    S Pipe - Stock MSP
    Intercooler - MAM
    MSP ECU - Reflashed
    SplitSecond AFC (V1)
    HKS SSQV BOV
    Hardpipes - Custom built 2 1/2" OD x 16 ga. tube (to be fully welded to minimize couplers)
    ***Note: Found a source to powdercoat hardpipes - $2.00 per linear foot
    McMaster Carr - DIY vacuum block and lines
    Oil & Water Lines - From xelderx's part out (including oil pan with bung)
    0000-88-C67 - MSP one way check valve

MSP LSD - To be welded next week
    Exedy Stage 1 Clutch - (ordered from ProtegeGarage this morning)

ForceFed custom steering column (dual pod)
    ForceFed custom radio bezel (dual pod)
    Autometer single gauge pod (for the wideband)
    Prosport Gauges - Boost, Oil, EGT Temp & Water Temp
    Gauge Placement.....(let me know if you have any other suggestions)